Ms. Alyssa

(School Age Teacher)

What year did you start at CFK?

I recently started at CFK in February of 2015, and since then I have been a floater, meeting all the age groups and falling absolutely in love with all of them.

What year did you begin your early childhood profession?

CFK is my first early childhood experience. I am currently enrolled in classes to be lead teacher qualified. I have 6 siblings all currently ages 11 and younger, and for 9 years I was a big part in raising them with my mother and step-dad, since they both were very busy with the work on our family farm. I grew up around children and have always had a heart for care taking, loving, and teaching them.

Tell about your family.

My parents had me at a young age and they did not stay together. Being raised separately, my mother taught me the essentials in life by example; faith in God, love, hope, drive, respect and sacrifice. My dad engraved a great work ethic in my personality. On the farm, when I was tall enough to reach the milk pump, I started milking cows. My week consisted of waking up at 3:45 am to start milking at 4am, then to school at 7:30, to whatever sport practice (Basketball, Cross-country, Track and field, Golf and Softball) I had until 6pm. They both remarried when I was 6-8 years old; my mom to a 3rd generation farmer, and my dad to a dedicated surgical technician. My mother and Sam had 4 more children; Gabriel (11), Abigail (10), Alaina (6), and Anita (4). My dad and Michelle had 2 more children; Alisyn (6) and Braelyn (5). I am so honored to have been blessed with an amazing family, along with my huge extended family.

Who was/is the most influential person in your life? Why?

The most influential person in my life is my mom. How much she sacrificed to take care of me, at such a young age, and how smart, faithful talented, wise, but how incredibly humble she is in all of it. Every day that passes I am just more and more amazed at the woman she is.

Do you have any pets?

I have a farm dog back home, named Paws, who us kids love to let in the house with us (against Mom’s approval) whenever we can. She is a plump happy ole doggy!

What is your hobby?

My favorite hobby is playing guitar, but I love to draw, paint, hunt, snowboard, four-wheeling, and anything outdoors, especially fishing, I can do!

Share a spiritual experience in your life.

I was raised Lutheran, and attended a Lutheran school for 9 years, and now I currently attend City Church and absolutely love it. I attend the church, because of my lovely boyfriend, Jimmy, who brought me to City Church after I was born again in Christ.

What is your favorite scripture?

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7
“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go” Joshua 1:9

Send Email